Breakthru Ventures AI

AMP2

AI · Money · Power

What matters today at the intersection of artificial intelligence, capital, energy and government.

Daily Brief Published 9:00 AM

AMP2 Daily Brief – September 28, 2026

AI. Money. Power.


Lambda Plans Oklahoma AI Campus With Full Ratepayer Cost Absorption as Neoclouds Clear Billions

Lambda commits to pay 100 percent of electricity costs for a new Mayes County data center under Oklahoma’s ratepayer-protection statute — and signs the White House Ratepayer Protection Pledge — as London’s Nscale closes a $3.36 billion pre-IPO convertible book, CleanSpark prints $2.276 billion of 7.875 percent notes, and AI credit still digests a 10-year Treasury near multi-year highs ahead of SoftBank’s framed October OpenAI tranche.

Today’s Signals

  • Lambda Oklahoma campus – MidAmerica Industrial Park (Mayes County); company will pay 100% of energy costs under OK ratepayer-protection law; White House Ratepayer Protection Pledge; closed-loop cooling; ~$500M tax over 10 years (company); MW/COD not disclosed.
  • Nscale $3.36B convertibles – Third Point-led pre-IPO notes; $2.36B closed; Nvidia $1B commitment eyed mid-November; company cites >$103B TCV; Goldman Sachs placement agent.
  • CleanSpark $2.276B notes – 7.875% senior secured due 2031 closed Sep 25 via CSDC Finance I; company frames >1.8 GW power/land/DC portfolio.
  • AI credit / yields – CNBC: 10-year Treasury near 5.17%; JPMorgan June estimate $4.1T AI-related debt through 2030; SoftBank ~$11.1B HY (coupons to 9.75%); SoftBank OpenAI ~$10B tranche framed ~Oct 1.
  • Adani Odisha 1 GW park – State clearance for High Density Data Centre Ltd ~Rs.1.04T proposal; ~250 acres at Naraj; approval of a proposal, not a verified FID/COD.

The Big Story

The AI factory argument is migrating from model offtake to who pays for the megawatts when the campus lands. On September 27, Lambda — the Superintelligence Cloud — said it will build a new data center at MidAmerica Industrial Park in Mayes County, Oklahoma, and take full responsibility for electricity and infrastructure costs under the state’s Data Center Customer Ratepayer Protection Act. The company also says it signed the White House Ratepayer Protection Pledge, is designing flexible load for peak periods, and will use closed-loop cooling. Company-framed economics: about $500 million in taxes over ten years, up to 1,000 construction jobs and about 100 permanent roles. Megawatts, total capex, and commercial operation date were not disclosed — a siting-and-cost-allocation commitment, not a verified COD. Grand River Dam Authority and MidAmerica say they ran a reverse RFP; Cloverleaf Infrastructure is prepping the site. Pair that with London’s Nscale clearing $3.36 billion of pre-IPO convertibles and CleanSpark closing $2.276 billion of secured notes: equity and high-yield still fund the stack, while political permission increasingly requires the operator to internalize power cost. SoftBank’s framed October OpenAI tranche and Solaris’s eyed October 1 notes close stay on Watching. The new fact is a neocloud writing ratepayer protection into the campus announcement before the first rack lands.

AI

Neoclouds and hyperscalers are still clearing compute books while the cost of capital rises underneath. Nscale’s $3.36 billion convertible loan-note raise — led by Third Point, with NVIDIA, Apollo, Citadel, Hudson Bay Capital, Abu Dhabi Investment Council, and others — splits into $2.36 billion closed now and a $1 billion NVIDIA commitment expected in mid-November; the notes convert on IPO, and the company cites more than $103 billion of total contracted value. Separately, Microsoft said its India South Central region in Hyderabad is live as a strategic hub for Asia and the Global South — three availability zones, AI-ready hardware, effectively zero-water cooling, and MeitY/DPDP-aligned sovereignty framing inside a $20.5 billion India commitment. Demand still shows up as multi-year cloud capacity and convertible paper; the constraint remains who can clear GPUs, power documents, and coupons on the same calendar.

Money

Credit is clearing — at a price. CleanSpark closed $2.276 billion of 7.875 percent senior secured notes due 2031 through CSDC Finance I on September 25, while SoftBank’s roughly $11.1 billion multi-currency high-yield print earlier in the week carried dollar coupons up to 9.75 percent toward AI commitments, including a framed ~$10 billion OpenAI follow-on around October 1. CNBC’s September 27 frame still puts the 10-year Treasury near 5.17 percent against a JPMorgan June estimate of $4.1 trillion in AI-related debt through 2030; lenders are getting pickier on neocloud names. Secondary color via Pivot News, reporting a Goldman Sachs note on Bloomberg, puts 2027 AI infrastructure spending by the five largest U.S. hyperscalers at about $1.2 trillion with a ~$300 billion annual AI-revenue breakeven test — analyst sounding, not company guidance. Solaris’s $1.25 billion of 7.000 percent notes (close eyed October 1) and Oracle’s Project Jupiter force-majeure notice stay on Watching.

Energy & Power

Power is the permission slip. Lambda’s Oklahoma plan puts ratepayer cost absorption and flexible load into the press release; Adani’s High Density Data Centre Ltd won Odisha high-level clearance for a roughly Rs.1.04 trillion, about 1 gigawatt data-centre park proposal on some 250 acres at Naraj — state approval of a proposal, not a funded FID or COD. Continuity: Rune’s $40 million Spark-led Series A funds modular RELIC micro data centers inside operating solar farms (company: active 200 megawatt Texas host), and TAR’s earlier $120 million round at a $1 billion post-money valuation still sells islanded solar-and-battery plants that skip the queue. Estithmar’s Elegancia unit took a turnkey contract exceeding QAR 500 million (~$137 million) for an AI-ready MEEZA data center in Qatar — construction award, MW undisclosed.

Government Power

“Pay your own way” is becoming the default legislative grammar across peers. Oklahoma’s ratepayer-protection statute and the White House pledge Lambda cites sit beside California’s SB 886 tariff path, Oregon’s pending Pacific Power POWER Act settlement (PUC decision eyed around November 13), and Texas Governor Greg Abbott’s September 21 TCEQ permit pause — peer user-pays signals, not a single-state lead. In Brussels, the Commission’s September 21 Delegated Regulation for a common Union A-to-G data-centre sustainability label on PUE and WUE (operators with at least 500 kilowatts of IT demand; first labels eyed August 15, 2027) remains in European Parliament and Council scrutiny and is built to feed green finance, procurement, and Cloud and AI Development Act assessments. Continuity: PJM Large Load ride-through still eyes a November FERC filing; NERC computational-load drafts still target a December 31 filing.

Startup and Small Business Signal

Behind-the-meter compute is still the small-team product answer to interconnection scarcity. Rune’s $40 million Series A — Spark Capital leading, with Union Square Ventures, Lowercarbon Capital, and Activate among participants — funds modular enclosures that turn operating solar arrays into on-site GPU hosts without waiting for substation upgrades. Company claims include an active Texas solar host and sharply lower non-compute capital cost versus traditional off-site builds. That is a product bet on stranded midday electrons, not a hyperscale campus SPV — and it rhymes with Lambda writing ratepayer protection into a greenfield announcement.

AMP Bottom Line

Lambda can announce an Oklahoma AI campus only if it also announces who pays for the power — 100 percent on the operator under state law and a White House pledge — while Nscale clears $3.36 billion of pre-IPO convertibles and CleanSpark prints $2.276 billion of secured notes into a 10-year near multi-year highs. Political permission and the coupon are no longer someone else’s problem: Adani still needs Odisha approval to become steel and megawatts, Europe is about to paste PUE and WUE grades on large Union data centres, and SoftBank’s framed October OpenAI tranche will test whether price-insensitive AI credit still clears. The AI factory is being priced on who funds offtake, who absorbs the megawatts, and who can still refinance when the Treasury tape is this loud.

What AMP2 is watching next

  • Whether Lambda discloses MW, capex, COD, or offtake for the Mayes County campus.
  • Whether SoftBank's ~$10B OpenAI tranche funds on or around Oct 1 as framed.
  • Whether Solaris's $1.25B 7.000% notes close on or around Oct 1.
  • Whether Nscale's $1B Nvidia convertible tranche funds in mid-November.
  • Whether Oracle and Blue Owl/STACK agree a power-related force majeure on Project Jupiter with readable schedule, rent, or loan disclosure.
  • Whether Oregon's PUC approves the Pacific Power POWER Act settlement on or around Nov 13.
  • Whether California's CPUC advances SB 886 / AB 2383 implementing tariffs toward the Jan 1, 2028 deadline.
  • Whether the EU confirms Official Journal entry-into-force timing for the Sep 21 Delegated Regulation and the Aug 15, 2027 first-label date.